Support Us

RLMC designated as a Level 4 trauma hospital

Rainy Lake Medical Center has been designated a Level 4 trauma center, officials announced this week.

The Statewide Trauma Advisory Council on Tuesday voted to approve RLMC’s emergency department’s Level 4 trauma designation. All trauma designated hospitals must comply with the Minnesota Department of Health’s statewide trauma system criteria and complete a site visit every three years. “We have successfully held this designation since 2012,” said Kim Rasmussen, director of the RLMC emergency department, adding the facility met or exceeded all criteria outlined by the state in order to achieve the designation.

Performance thresholds RLMC maintained or exceeded include:

  • Time from patient arrival to emergency department provider arrival at hospital is less than or equal to 30 minutes when the provider is offsite.
  • Trauma team activated when criteria is met.
  • Time from patient arrival until transportation ordered is less than 30 minutes when the patient is transferred for a higher level of care.
  • Airway successfully secured when necessary.

“We have successfully maintained 80 percent or higher of the performance thresholds,” Rasmussen said, adding all emergency department providers and nurses maintain any necessary, specialized training for the designation. “We’re thankful for our nurses and ED providers for their excellent trauma care.”

Through its designation, Rainy Lake Medical Center recognizes the vital role that communities, ambulance service, hospitals and health care professionals play in the care and management of trauma patients.



Comments are closed.